Uriri Constituency

Post on 27 January 2016
by Super User

Uriri is an electoral constituency in Kenya. It is one of eight constituencies of Migori County. There are five wards in the constituency, all electing councillors to the Migori County council. The constituency was established for the 1997 elections. Its mainly inhabited by two ethnic tribes namely Luo and the Abaluhya, who live harmoniously with kiswahili being the lingua franca in the this sub county region.


The common agricultural produce from this region include sugarcane and tobacco(the two are the leading cash crops of this regions) maize, beans, ground nuts, arrow roots etc compose the domestic food basket.


The constituency has secondary schools which have adequate facilities and primary schools too. Among the secondary schools it has are: St. Pius Uriri High School, Mukuyu Secondary School, Achuth Secondary School,Bware Secondary School among other schools. Among the leading primary schools we have Kamsaki Primary School, Kolwal Primary School,Bware Primary School, Mukuyu Primary School, Uriri Primary School, Magongo Primary School, Sigira Primary School,Korondo Primary School etc. The girl child education in uriri sub county is facing challenges with many families opting for early marriages due to inadequate schools and poverty in the region.

 Sports and culture

Uriri has rich culture due to the presence of various communities and denominations. After every five years its graced with the Abatiriki circumcision ceremonies, after every two years the Maragoli circumcision ceremonies. The religion doctrines such as Islam and Christianity is also well practiced. Football the sport of the day as many youths participate in local tourneys and village tournaments organized by the local leaders. Madegwa Cup Tourney and Mudeisi tournament are only a few to be mentioned. some of the common teams include Kamsaki FC,Bware HomeBoyz FC, Korondo FC, Mukuyu FC, Uriri United etc.


Members of Parliament

ElectionsMP Party 
1997 Herman O. Omamba NDP  
2002 Herman O. Omamba NARC  
2007 Cyprian Ojwang Omollo ODM  
2013 John Kobado ODM  


WardRegistered Voters
Central Kanyamkago  
East Kanyamkago  
North Kanyamkago  
South Kanyamkago  
West Kanyamkago